Rift players with inactive character will need to log them in before October 23rd or they'll be reset.
With the Rift shard merger now only a day away, the game's developers at Trion Worlds have announced that it will be taking steps to free up some character names heading into its newly merged shards. When the shards are combined inactive characters will be reset, releasing their names for use by other players. Aware that this could lead to some unhappiness amongst effected users, Trion intends to give ample advance warning prior to the merger.
Adventure in the world of Telara as either a noble Guardian or technomagical Defiant and enter a dynamic fantasy where 8 primal forces battle for control in an ever-changing landscape. Build your own class using the Ascended Soul system and embark on epic conflicts that bring you into the story, taking your RPG experience to new heights of achievement and excitement.
"If one of your characters is going to be impacted by this change, you'll be getting an email from us in the next day or two with instructions," explained community director Elizabeth Tobey. Players who want to keep their inactive characters from being reset will have steps to prevent it. "If you are one of these inactive characters and want to keep your name, you'll just need to log in with that character before October 23rd." Tobey also revealed that players transferring from one shard to another as a result of the impending merger will receive a special title "denoting where they previously hailed from."
While this is a move that's likely to rub some the wrong way, it's understandable on Trion's part. After all, while players might enjoy having multiple characters, it's arguably unfair that users could potentially hoard character names that they aren't actually using and someone else might enjoy. To read more about the character reset or participate in the resulting community discussion, head over to the official announcement at Rift's website.